What is an NFL Wild-Card Game?


The NFL divides its teams into two conferences (National Football League – NFC and American Football League – AFC), which are then split into four divisions (North, South, East, and West).

When heading into the playoffs, the seedings go as followed: Best Record from the North, South, East, and West divisions in each conference each get an automatic playoff birth (4 teams from each conference=8 total teams qualify)

There are two more teams that make it from each conference that have the next best record and second-best record of the entire conference(2 teams from each conference=4 more teams).

These are known as wild-card teams. 

Since the four best teams of the entire league get a first week bye-week, the following summarizes the wild card weekend and then the rest of the playoff bracket of the NFL:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s